Happy B-day Natters

Today is the 25th birthday of my second child…a whole quarter of a century old.  I wonder if alll mothers recall the days of their children’s births.  The morning 25 years ago, was much the same as today. The sun shone brilliantly on a thin, but fresh diamond dusting of snow.  Old mother nature had spruced up the place just a bit for him… <smile> she had actually dusted.
 
The middle child of three, he is at once, incredibly intelligent, and thickly bullheaded.  He laughs easily and always searches for the way to make others laugh.  Even at his own expense, laughter is the ultimate purchase.
 
It was February 10th, 1982, and I knew by 10 pm that I was to be a mom, again, before another day had passed.  My s.o. was nowhere to be found…until I called the right bar  <sigh> hindsight is so painfully 20/20.  So my dad drove me to the hospital… arriving shortly after midnight.
 
I had never been so alone in all of my life. 
 
Assuming that it would be a longer labor, as my first had been, I settled in for an all-nighter.  But by 3:00 am it was obvious that the baby that had run almost two weeks overdue, was not waiting for sunrise to make its appearance.  All of the sudden there was some kind of a big hurry?
 
At 3:35, with no pain medication for mom, his ,at first, squeaky little chirps regaled the world with a tale of  his birth.  Then a louder cry, but not anything that would be considred an audible assault.  More like plaintive vocalized observations…there is so much light (cry) that i must squint.  Why is it so (cry) cold in here?
 
He was beautiful.  Well, of course he was, what did you expect?  Brown hair, like his mom, unlike the blonde of his dad.  8lbs, 1 ounce, 21 1/2 inches long.  The largest of my three children, but the easiest birth.
 
I strained to keep the isolette in view while I watched him.  There was no drugged fuzziness clouding my mind…and this was the most amazing thing ever that I was witnessing.  His tiny head turned as he squinted, looking around at the lights (really searching for me…no one can tell me differently).
 
There he was, the promise, the miracle…the world goes on.
 
And that is it. The moment of our separation was past…a precarious time at best for each of us…and he was his own little person, his own tiny piece of existence. 
 
Today, he a handsome, 6’6" man, (still the biggest of my three children).  His qualities shine through, along with the doubts and the searching that all middle kids of three have and do.
 
Born, not into a title or a preordained place in the lineage of the family, the middle child of three feels a deep compulsion to earn or to define his place in life.
 
He was not given the title of "Firstborn" nor the title of "The baby of the family" so he wants the title; he yearns to know what about him is special…and simply given…because he was born.
 
How can a person not love him?  Yes, to know my dear Natters is to love him.  The first to hold his hand out in friendship, or to offer help…as long as you let him know; he is not a mind reader <smirk>.  A doer, a thinker, with a fascinating mind for numbers and patterns. He works in the tool and die industry, programming lathes and other machinery to do a job in the most efficient manner.
 
I wish that I could make him understand, that he is just so special, that there is no need to search.  He has his title, his place.  LOved son, forever in his mom’s heart…
About Teresa Cypher

I live with my husband in a humble house in the middle of a tall stand of hardwoods, bordered by soybean and corn fields, in western Pennsylvania. Mother of three adult children and "Grammie" to one sweet little girl, I revel in family gatherings and celebrations. My husband and I care for the gardens on our property--our little corner of heaven, have a glass of wine at sunset, and like to watch the stars come out. Currently working in QC and Development for a Bio-technology Company that produces green, agricultural products. I came into the world a creator of stories. Having been born into a litter, the 7th of 8 children, in a farming family, I have spent most of my life trying to be an individual. My dreams took me there. From the time I was a little girl, I was a thinker, spending any time I could find to be alone--the bastion of undisturbed thoughts, dreaming of other worlds and of fairy-tale love. My mind never shut off-- through the years when thoughts allowed me to escape the everyday world of farm life, to the daydreams while I was raising children and being the cook, the baker, the candlestick maker,and the taxi driver-- all while working full time. It took until middle age for me to realize that my meandering mind was writing stories! Once I sat down and started typing, it took 2 months to write my first book. My biggest challenge at first was getting my fingers to type fast enough to keep up with my mind. My daughter bought me a small digital recorder so I could save my thoughts until my fingers could catch up. The story that I wrote, Across The Night Sky ,was years in the making, and timed well...after I had experienced real life and the joys and heartaches it brings. I think that time gave me a well-spring of experiences from which to merge fairy-tale love with the cynicism adult life creates--while never losing sight of the beautiful and wonderful that love is. Writing is my passion...this incredible discovery in mid life that often keeps me up till the wee hours of the morning. I am so very fortunate to have the opportunity to devote my time to something that brings me such joy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy B-day Natters

  1. RON says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY to the middle sapling in the Willow forest and may you have many more.

  2. Laugher1957 says:

    Willow you really are an insightful and thoughtful person.  You see so many things that other people miss…..maybe we are all moving to fast through life or not looking and trying to understand enough to catch it.  Its so true that our number in birth plays such a big role in who we are and how we live our life. 
     
    Shame on your s/o…..a very special moment in your life that he will never share and understand.  Isn\’t it funny ……or should I say terribley sad…. how people reading this in a way have experienced this moment so much more than he has?
     
    Bravo to you for no pain killers….although at the time it may have not felt like the best decision.  Our firstborn was all natural and the experience was so much more real and satisfying….the second being an emergency C section with mom all groggy and not really able to experience the joy and wonder of it all. 
     
    Things are so different now…..my daughter just had a beautiful little baby boy last week.  She knew the sex, had the name picked out…..even decided to have a C-section so she knew the exact time he would be born…..no mysterys or surprises in that!!!  All the presents can be bought ahead of time and you can work it into your schedule so you can make sure and be there for the special occasion…..Yes…..its a different world now.
     
     

  3. MICHAEL says:

    Happy B-Day to your son, & if the apple didn\’t fall too far from the tree, he must be a remarkable young man. Wishing you & yours all the best, all the time!!!

  4. Megan says:

    I hope you don\’t mind, but I shared your Nate blog with Amanda. She is going to share it with Nate. I guess I always knew where I "stood" with you, mommaletto since we had that momzee/zigzee (mother/daughter) bond. Nate\’s a hard shell to crack, but so sweet on the inside once you do. I think your blog will just sweeten him a little more. We never grow tired of parental praise:) Love you!

  5. Megan says:

    p.s. This blog REALLY makes me want to be a Momzee too! I get less skeeved out by the idea the more I think about it. Maybe 5 more years….haha.

Leave a Reply

