Wild Hair Weekend

Not a wild weekend by any measure, but a weekend that happened because I got a wild hair, which I have not had in years…

It was Carol’s idea (my friend) and Carol’s invitation… and my round trip ticket as a gift… that initiated the wild hair.  I also had a need to go with that girl and be sure that she was safe…

We went to work on Friday morning to put in a half of a day, and to be sure to leave all of our ducks in a row.  Our desks are approximately ten feet apart in the front lab of R&D, and when we first saw each other Friday morning, we ended up dancing in a circle, laughing and chanting, "Going to the Beach, we’re going to the beach, we’re going to the beach!"  Talk about laughing out loud and feeling giddy!

We both ran late on our half day of work…which put the rush on getting home, getting showers, double checking our lists before we zipped our suitcases closed for the trip.  Back at work by 2:10, (we were supposed to leave for the airport at 2:00) I waited another ten minutes for Carol.

We wasted no time loading up and heading south for the approximately 60 mile trip to the airport.  Slow traffic through the Fort Pitt tunnels, we chose the expressway that took us right through the heart of Pittsburg. As we inch through traffic, Ed is on the cell phone, checking on our progress. He will be meeting us on the Philly end of the flight.

Hurry, hurry, our flight was to leave at 5:00 pm. We parked in long term

 

, caught a shuttle in and were dropped off in the basement.  Up one flight to the security check in.  While we stood in line, I looked at other passengers and the bags that they had…and then turned to Carol and asked, "Why does no one else have a great big suitcase like yours?"

She thought that people just pack light now, so that they can travel fast and easy, then she shrugged.  I started to suspect that we were in the wrong line… and when we finally got to the front of the line, we were told, "Oh, USAir, you will have to check those bigger bags…

Neither of us had ever ridden the shuttle in and been dropped off on the lowest level, so we had missed the check luggage area.  Back up to the top–third level, check our luggage, get boarding passes and back to security.

We cleared security (first time I have flown since maybe 1990) and I enjoyed taking my sandals off immensely! But it is better than being blown out of the sky!

We rode the subway out to the gates and now we were home free, with an hour to spare.

TGI Fridays–here we come!

One chocolate monkey and one pomegranate margarita please!

 

Well, we got to enjoying ourselves far too much… and in the end, after discovering why the waiters all liked carol, (her zipper was down) we had to run almost the whole length of the USAir gates to get to ours on time. Once there, it was obvious that  they had not begun to board yet… we checked the boards, and our flight had been delayed until 5:15 pm.  We finally boarded, and then after everyone was seated and we pulled out onto the edge of the runway, the Captain announced that Philly had a flow problem, and we were not cleared to leave until 6:15 Okay, so I began the task of forcing the indifferent soul seated next to me–to talk  to me.

Turns out that he is a pilot (for another airline) and his copilot and the rest of his crew were onboard too.  I picked his brain about flights and such.

We were finally cleared for takeoff. As I was pressed back into my seat i wanted to shout, "YEEEEEEHAWWWWW!" lol, but after all of this, could not risk having the authorities waiting for me on the Philly end. uh oh!  clouds ahead! but as we neared Philly, the clouds departed! and I got to scope out one of the PA turnpike’s famous cloverleaf interchanges…

 

sorry, I cannot hold my eyes open… and I will try to add to this tomorrow!

About Teresa Cypher

I live with my husband in a humble house in the middle of a tall stand of hardwoods, bordered by soybean and corn fields, in western Pennsylvania. Mother of three adult children and "Grammie" to one sweet little girl, I revel in family gatherings and celebrations. My husband and I care for the gardens on our property--our little corner of heaven, have a glass of wine at sunset, and like to watch the stars come out. Currently working in QC and Development for a Bio-technology Company that produces green, agricultural products. I came into the world a creator of stories. Having been born into a litter, the 7th of 8 children, in a farming family, I have spent most of my life trying to be an individual. My dreams took me there. From the time I was a little girl, I was a thinker, spending any time I could find to be alone--the bastion of undisturbed thoughts, dreaming of other worlds and of fairy-tale love. My mind never shut off-- through the years when thoughts allowed me to escape the everyday world of farm life, to the daydreams while I was raising children and being the cook, the baker, the candlestick maker,and the taxi driver-- all while working full time. It took until middle age for me to realize that my meandering mind was writing stories! Once I sat down and started typing, it took 2 months to write my first book. My biggest challenge at first was getting my fingers to type fast enough to keep up with my mind. My daughter bought me a small digital recorder so I could save my thoughts until my fingers could catch up. The story that I wrote, Across The Night Sky ,was years in the making, and timed well...after I had experienced real life and the joys and heartaches it brings. I think that time gave me a well-spring of experiences from which to merge fairy-tale love with the cynicism adult life creates--while never losing sight of the beautiful and wonderful that love is. Writing is my passion...this incredible discovery in mid life that often keeps me up till the wee hours of the morning. I am so very fortunate to have the opportunity to devote my time to something that brings me such joy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wild Hair Weekend

  1. Linda says:

    Sounds like fun!  I enjoy flying and the sunsets up there are great!  But there are also advantages to staying on the ground while you travel.  Lots more to see.  Hope you have a great time and I can\’t wait to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

