Wild Hair weekend 4th and final (I hope)

Sunday morning, I was awake at 6:10–goal to catch sunrise over the Atlantic.  I checked in with Ed before I left to ask if there was a time schedule that I needed to keep. "Nope, No schedule, take your time."

I knew before I had even gotten to the beach, that I missed it. NARS! (not a rocket scientist) I had failed to take into account how much farther east I was than at home!  But the pics are still quite lovely!.

I am sooo in love with this world! solitude♥ wow, the person sailing that boat might be the only soul on this earth  more at peace than I am right at this moment!

  I am struck by how easily and quickly colors, hues and lighting change, this time of day, with the water and reflections.

I decide to walk up toward the boardwalk at wildwood…maybe, what? Two miles at the most? 😉     (NARS again)

I beachcomb as I go. I meet a few people on the way, but most are very busy, with a task at hand… getting the conch shells!  Two people actually brought their small children along to carry the shells in the arms folded across their chests! I had to smile at one little boy, perhaps all of five years old. As he made his way down the beach, he would scurry like a sandpiper toward any object that he saw lying on the sand as the surf receded!. I do not know how the lad would have picked up a thing; his arms were full to overflowing already with conch shells!

Aha! What is this?? Unbelievable! and what are these?? and this?Now I start to giggle out loud>> at our "rare’ find yesterday!  They  are everywhere this morning!  I find not one, but two conch shells!  Great! One for carol, one for me. It is so warm by now that I have taken off my windbreaker and looped it under my camera bag’s waist strap. The shells fit one in each side pocket.  Great coat! Wore it all winter skiing and walking, I zipped out the liner and it is a perfect traveling coat now <big smile> "This coat has been to" I suddenly see in my minds eye…a sewn in patch that has destinations recorded on it.  <Shaking my head> It is a danged good thing that I do NOT have too much time on my hands!  Okay, back to my morning walk… WOW!!! LOL!!! FIND OF THE TRIP!!! HAVE TO TAKE A PHOTO OF THIS!! There is a story behind this– many moons ago, Dave his buddy (Colorado visits–in photos) were water skiing on the Allegheny river. Colorado on a slalom, and Dave on a kneeboard.  Colorado kept putting out walls of water by skiing wide then back toward Dave and cutting hard at the last minute. Dave was doing the same, but the kneeboard just could not compete! They were both laughing like little boys and on one particularly giant wall of water, Dave laughed a hard, wide open mouth laugh! It washed the teeth right out of his mouth! For a split second, he saw them on the tip of the kneeboard— and then they were gone! 

Hah! I have found them!

And I left them, right there!  Where I found them!  🙂

I proceeded toward the boardwalk, thinking and walking and dreaming…and just absorbing the sound of the surf, the quiet of the early morning, the gulls crying…brought to my sense only when someone approached.  A smile and a few kind words exchanged, and I was back in my world…meandering as I so love to do…

I lost track of time.. pulled my cell phone out of my camera bag to check the time–missed a call from carol. Message left at 6:32 am. She wanted to know where I was, she would walk to the beach to meet me. I returned the call–7:40 am. No answer! I continue walking.  I finally get up to the beach in front of the board walk, take a few pics and turn around.

One shot back toward the where I entered the beach, uh oh! I have to use all of my zoom to even make out the beach front condo that is coral in color!  Hmm, pretty far up the shore!

I start back toward Wildwood Crescent beach.  My phone rings, it is now 8:20.  "Where are you?"

"Just south of Wildwood, the boardwalk."

"Oh, we want to go out on the boat, and the wind is starting to kick up–it could get too bad if we wait long."

"OK, well, I am heading back to the beach."

"When we know what we are doing we will call you back"

I walk a lot faster now, estimating 20 minutes to a half hour to get back to ‘our" beach at this pace.  Ten minutes later I am just back to the big wooden pier that can be seen with telephoto from "our" beach.  Damn! It is hard to gage distance on a beach!

The phone rings again, "Where are you at now?

I look toward the street and give the name of the building. Ed has never heard of it.

"we will call you back."

I continue walking…

I turned up toward the street, figuring that I will make better time walking on a sidewalk, than on sand. I am just pausing to take pics as I cut through the dune, when the phone rings. Sea oats is lovely!

"Where are you now?"

"The Excalibur."

"Okay, we just passed it!"

Within two minutes we are all together and headed for the boat. On the way, I present Carol with the conch shells, and she can take her pick. Ed does not miss a thing.

We arrived at the marina where he keeps his boat, but he pulled into a different parking lot, stopped the vehicle and  said. "Look."

Carol and I both look down over the back where we are parked, it is low tide, and there is sea grass and mud and an old rotting wooden boat.

He repeated, "Look." but this time he added "hard."

We looked again…and saw the grass, the mud, the boat…

I must add here that Carol and I met nearly 20 years ago on the first day of our new job. It was an entry level union job, and we began our climb out of labor obscurity by signing bids on the same day, for reseach and development positions.  We were tested to see, (I reckon <wink, wink>) if we were both as absolutely brilliant as we appeared (at first glance) to be.  Weighed and measured and found to NOT be lacking!  Our intitial education consisted of a Penn State short course in mushroom morpholgy and pathology…

The big point that I must make here is this: (Laughing out loud now),  that we were both deemed to be "trained observers" among other things!!! 

So I say again, "We saw the the grass, the mud, the boat!" lol… 

Ed finally asked, "Don’t you see the conch shells everywhere?"

We were out of that truck and down over the bank quicker than you can say –Conchshellseverywhere!

This part of the parking lot was fill, and a a good use of local resources is seashells as a fill, and as a driving and parking surface–like we use limestone back home!

It was conch Christmas!  Sea shell extravaganza!  All I knew for sure was that Ed’s truck was big enough!!! <silly grin>

I picked out tow conch shells… and carol looked for a long time, but was reasonable in the number that she gathered also. We held down the number after deciding that we really did not want to box up shells and pay to send them home. We would limit ourselves to what we could carry on the plane.

On to the boat… and due to the wind, Ed decided to go inter-coastal rather than heading out to the ocean, via cape may inlet. He told us that the Largest Coast Guard training station is on that inlet, so they do keep it very passable;e. A large fishing fleet docs there also, due to the deep channel.

   

This is ship that was abandoned, and a storm rolled it on its side, notice the boom around it corralling contaminants

  Carol and Ed

These house are built on stilts, right on the Inter-coastal, they looked like doll houses! Some were very crooked!

 

Bridge raised to allow dolphin watching sightseeing boat through:

US Coastguard docked

            

AAA for on the water. Honest to God, I never knew such a service existed, you buy a membership, and they will  tow you in an emergency

 

Next stop–Lobsterhouse. Local landmark, on the cape May website. They have a fresh fish market, an open air bar on the dock on the back, a very nice restaurant on one side, a dock where the fishing boats actually unload and send straight into their on-site processing pant. Pretty amazing to sit and eat so close to those fishing boats that you can nearly reach out and touch them. there was a boat unloading while we were there. Note the tables on the dock– rope reels, painted red and blue, and they still have a pass of rope left on them for atmosphere. Very impressive place. Inside the fresh fish market, Carol bought breakfast for us!  Lobster quiche, creme brulee, death by chocolate cake, carrot cake and canoli. Life is uncertain. Eat dessert first!

We each got forks and spoons, and we tried EVERYTHING… "kids gone wild" I think is what this weekend has turned out to be!

  

Ed next took us to the nature preserve on Coast Guard property. There are natural sand dunes there. Wonder what this beautiful turtle thought when I laid down on the road beside him top get a perfect pic. He never pulled his head in…in fact, poked it out a little further…curious perhaps?

 

   

 

This picture is of the stone jetty that extends along the inter-coastal on the right, and the Atlantic on the left. Note the waves on the Atlantic side?  None on the inter-coastal.

 

Carol is now crowned, "Horseshoe crab rescuer of the year!" That girl must have carried half a dozen of them back to the water from where they were high and dry baking in the sun.  Heck, I don’t know, they could have been laying eggs for all that I know? 😉

 

You know, the conch shell that is four and a half feet down between two giant rocks on the stone jetty, will ALWAYS prove to be the prettiest and of course, the most desirable to posses. We found a long piece of driftwood and it only took Carol five minutes or so to get the shell!

This is Diamond beach, where we found no Cape may diamonds…but the real gem was in the looking…

 

 

We left Diamond beach, and went to a bar that Ed knew served excellent sandwiches.  He recommended pork Florentine, and once again, it was delicious.  Back to Ed’s, he napped while Carol and I took one last trip to the beach. One can never get too much beach, right! The wind was howling on the beach and it sandblasted our legs and feet, so we spent more time in the water today.

Ed must have thought that we were okay because, after he woke, he walked down to the beach, carrying his chair–to hang out with us.

Time to head back to Ed’s to get showers and decide what to do next.

Go to sunset beach for pics. Tonight the no-seeums are out in force. Avon Skin-so-soft does the trick again!

Sunset beach in Wildwood Crescent–which is a dry town–thus very quiet and peaceful.

 

 

The boardwalk Sunday evening…and as all can tell, my camera was just exhausted and refused to take a decent picture.

 

 

Ed treated for pizza on the way back to his place.  Very generous and fun person.

 

I like this plane! Look at those colors, would ya?  Middle pic is of center city Philly from airport. I am deeply disturbed by those twin buildings that look like they have ears…or short horns, or something. Godzilla-like? I am not sure but I really got a bad feeling looking at them… aren’t we silly things?  We humans?

The picture on the right is our Pennsylvania mountains. Our highest point is MT. Davis, at only 3,213 feet. But they are lovely from the air nonetheless.

 

 

Mid state, we are socked in with clouds. I note the sundog below on the top of the clouds. As we began to descend, our shadow appeared and grew larger and larger until we reached the clouds and dropped through.

Flaps up, brakes on… touchdown Pittsburgh!

 

 

Ah, <big sigh> our great adventure is over. I have never traveled without a pile of people in tow. I have always been the one responsible for organizing and coordinating where and when. This was just too danged much fun. I got to spend some serious girl to girl quality time with one of my dearest friends in this world-Carol.  I made a new friend-Ed…and if he ever gets to this side of the state…I hope that he comes for dinner.

I am learning, oh yes, I am learning…"Life is short" and a girl really never can have too much fun!

I have to add here, and I am about to email the link to Willowlive.spaces to Ed, because I told him that I would– after I had posted our story…

The first day and a half that I knew Ed, I kept thinking…he looks like someone, but who?

Then it hit me!  Photos follow, 🙂 and Ed and Carol had never even heard of the guy!

About Teresa Cypher

I live with my husband in a humble house in the middle of a tall stand of hardwoods, bordered by soybean and corn fields, in western Pennsylvania. Mother of three adult children and "Grammie" to one sweet little girl, I revel in family gatherings and celebrations. My husband and I care for the gardens on our property--our little corner of heaven, have a glass of wine at sunset, and like to watch the stars come out. Currently working in QC and Development for a Bio-technology Company that produces green, agricultural products. I came into the world a creator of stories. Having been born into a litter, the 7th of 8 children, in a farming family, I have spent most of my life trying to be an individual. My dreams took me there. From the time I was a little girl, I was a thinker, spending any time I could find to be alone--the bastion of undisturbed thoughts, dreaming of other worlds and of fairy-tale love. My mind never shut off-- through the years when thoughts allowed me to escape the everyday world of farm life, to the daydreams while I was raising children and being the cook, the baker, the candlestick maker,and the taxi driver-- all while working full time. It took until middle age for me to realize that my meandering mind was writing stories! Once I sat down and started typing, it took 2 months to write my first book. My biggest challenge at first was getting my fingers to type fast enough to keep up with my mind. My daughter bought me a small digital recorder so I could save my thoughts until my fingers could catch up. The story that I wrote, Across The Night Sky ,was years in the making, and timed well...after I had experienced real life and the joys and heartaches it brings. I think that time gave me a well-spring of experiences from which to merge fairy-tale love with the cynicism adult life creates--while never losing sight of the beautiful and wonderful that love is. Writing is my passion...this incredible discovery in mid life that often keeps me up till the wee hours of the morning. I am so very fortunate to have the opportunity to devote my time to something that brings me such joy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wild Hair weekend 4th and final (I hope)

  1. Unknown says:

    I\’m groovin\’ to all your pictures and writing.It\’s like a peaceful, serene curvy road in the country. Thanks……

  2. Unknown says:

    Great photos with a delightful narrative journey.  I enjoyed it all – as usual!

Leave a Reply

