Texas :-) part three

Oh, where were we? At a BBQ place out in the boonies.  We waited for our turn, and watched the stars, and talked.  I now felt as though I have know Rose and ND since forever.  The place was to close at 9:00 pm, but I think it was later than that by the time that we got a seat inside.  Here again, there were autographs on walls and doorways, a few messages about the Aggies and the Longhorns… and while we were eating, a frog came hopping across the sawdust on the floor!  Too cool, I tell you! They were out of ribs, so we had BBQ sandwiches that were HUGE, lol, (everything is big in Texas!) and they were delicious too!!
 
Back on the road and headed north, we did not get back to Rose’s until going on midnight.
 
Saturday morning, Rose had a few things to do, new tire for her motorcycle, water some container plants… and then we headed  south again.
 
We hooked up with ND and I went for a ride out to Cammanche Peak, nice place with a pretty view.  I live in the rolling hills of western PA and the horizon is close. This was something entirely new to me.  Get a little elevation and you can see forever!  The ride was a lot of fun… ND is a gentleman…
 
Rose and I headed north again, stopping tograb some wildflowers along the way.  This woman is a botany genius of Texas wildflowers.  She had identified flowers on Friday while we were driving past them at traveling speed. But just to doublecheck, we picked a few kinds, hauled them back to her house, got out the wildflower books, and yes indeed! Just like she had said! She was right on.  🙂
 
Saturday evening was a family evening and Rose foes have a sweet, fun and musical family.  It was a very nice dinner and good time!  🙂
 
Bedtime was a bit earlier Saturday night… my butt was starting to drag!  Rose is an excellent tour guide too!
 
Sunday morning…my last day in Texas ;-(    (and I LIKE it here)  🙂 breakfast at a place that Rose and ND know of, then to the Fort Worth Botanical gardens.  It was almost 95 degrees by midday, and I am not native to that part of the hot world… we walked through the Japanese garden; it was indescribable… weeping willows and understory trees beneath tall trees–that I have not seen a lot of this weekend.  The pools and bridges are gorgeous, ducks, turtles, koi… a stand of bamboo that was very cool. That does not grow in PA.  A beautifully laid-out garden with a nice porch on the side of the gift shop at the exit. Time for  a sit-down break.
 
Next we walked the perenial garden… just gorgeous, words fail me here…
And then the Rose garden…wow!  A long walkway with Roses cascading from the sides, and then there was a formally laid out garden with stairs rising up to a viewing pavillion at the top.
 
While we were there, we saw a oung lady in a bright yellow dress, it resembled a wedding gown, but was bright yellow. Rose told me that it was a "coming out" celebration. I cannot recall the exact word that she used , but the young lady was there getting her photos taken in the rose garden. Not uncommon to use the Rose garden for such… or even for weddings.  🙂
 
We left there and went on a bit of a driving tour… a building with bullet holes in it from gunfights on the streets of the old Fort Worth (wild west).   And the angel that is at least two stories tall, jutting out from the side of the building in concrete or marble?  They shared the story of Fort Worth and Dallas and how the cities came to be…and how the city of Fort Worth was saved–taken back from crime and ruffians by a family that was willing to invest in their hometown.
 
Then we searched for a parking place (tough to come by due to consrtuction) near the Fort Worht water gardens.  As we circled the block, I could see little, and wondered what the big attraction was???
 
Words will fall short of any description that I try to give. It is fascinating, beautiful, water and concrete.  All angles, cubes and shimmering films of water that give way to cascading torrents around cubes that you are standing on at the bottom of an inverted, three-sided pyramid?
 
I could not stop smiling..it was so cool~ And there was another "garden" that was all mist, and another with cypress trees and big reflecting pool, and on the other side of the gardens, there were the "mountains" a lot of concrete blocks that kids (or adults) could climb.
 
One of the things that caught my attention (and this was not the first place that I noticed this) was that you could go anywhere. there were no "Keep-off" signs, no "do not enter" signs. I saw a few "at your own risk signs" while I was shown around…but Texas seems to rely on people using the common sense that most people have.  Rather than making the decision (like PA) that people cannot be trusted to their own safety.  Texas is a really unique place.
 
It is bedtime. I will finish this soon.
 
After almost three days in Texas, I am sure that I had no idea what it was like without going and seeing for myself, and I love Rose and ND; they have welcomed me like we have been friends all of our lives…!  🙂
About Teresa Cypher

I live with my husband in a humble house in the middle of a tall stand of hardwoods, bordered by soybean and corn fields, in western Pennsylvania. Mother of three adult children and "Grammie" to one sweet little girl, I revel in family gatherings and celebrations. My husband and I care for the gardens on our property--our little corner of heaven, have a glass of wine at sunset, and like to watch the stars come out. Currently working in QC and Development for a Bio-technology Company that produces green, agricultural products. I came into the world a creator of stories. Having been born into a litter, the 7th of 8 children, in a farming family, I have spent most of my life trying to be an individual. My dreams took me there. From the time I was a little girl, I was a thinker, spending any time I could find to be alone--the bastion of undisturbed thoughts, dreaming of other worlds and of fairy-tale love. My mind never shut off-- through the years when thoughts allowed me to escape the everyday world of farm life, to the daydreams while I was raising children and being the cook, the baker, the candlestick maker,and the taxi driver-- all while working full time. It took until middle age for me to realize that my meandering mind was writing stories! Once I sat down and started typing, it took 2 months to write my first book. My biggest challenge at first was getting my fingers to type fast enough to keep up with my mind. My daughter bought me a small digital recorder so I could save my thoughts until my fingers could catch up. The story that I wrote, Across The Night Sky ,was years in the making, and timed well...after I had experienced real life and the joys and heartaches it brings. I think that time gave me a well-spring of experiences from which to merge fairy-tale love with the cynicism adult life creates--while never losing sight of the beautiful and wonderful that love is. Writing is my passion...this incredible discovery in mid life that often keeps me up till the wee hours of the morning. I am so very fortunate to have the opportunity to devote my time to something that brings me such joy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Texas :-) part three

  1. Delete52Mitch says:

    Good thing they were out of pork ribs. When you are in Texas, you\’ve to to try the barbecue beef sandwiches! Sounds like you did good! Much love from Alabama. Mitch

Leave a Reply

