Zigzee, you are my sunshine

How on earth did it get this late??  And work sure does come early in the morning.  It is the end of a 3 day weekend for me, and I accomplished much.  Gardening, painting, reading one of my manuscripts, bicycling the community trail… dang! Life is good…
 
Ziggy and Tim stopped today for a late lunch.  Their big day quickly approaches… and after they left, I spent some time outside conversing with the sky, the wind, the trees, the dogs 🙂 any old thing that had no chance of answering me.  I needed to muse on a few things…and I really was in need of a little solitude, to hear my own thoughts.
 
 
Ziggy is my first-born.  My awakening to a world that was much larger than me.  I was 20 years old when she was born, and she was this beautiful little bundle of blonde hair and blue eyes.  If I had not already loved her, I could not have helped but falling in love with her.  My tiny daughter, 6 lbs. 11 oz. that was completely dependent upon me for protection from the world.
 
I read a book, years back, "The Thornbirds" and in it, one of the characters describes her daughter as no mystery at all… it was a mystery to her that sons came out of her body, but there was nothing to wonder about giving birth to a daughter.  After becoming a mother of a daughter (and later 2 sons) I never found an ounce of understanding in what that character said.  My daughter was this wonderful mystery to me, like a present that I got to open over and over again… from the moment that she began smiling a toothless grin at me while I fed her, until today, when I looked at her, all grown up and facing her wedding day… just a note*  Ziggy’s real name came from "The Thornbirds" and when the Catholic priest was talking to me about her baptism, he actually asked me if I made up the name 🙂
 
So, life is coming full circle on another front, and I wonder what to tell her about life…  I don’t know what I really have to share with her. She was born nearly grown-up, always wise beyond her years… and I can say that I have learned much from her…
 
I would want her to know, that all of the dreams that she had while growing up must never be cast away.  Life gets busy, but keep those dreams– and let them lift you up on a day when the world is holding you down.
 
Don’t ever let anyone tell you that you have limitations.  You don’t.  You are my shooting star, and we know that only shooting stars break the mold 😉  So, aim for the stars… but keep your feet on earth.
 
 
You are wise and beautiful… beauty fades, but wisdom grows if we keep an open heart and an open mind.
 
Your pappy used to tell me, and if he were here, he would tell you too, "ask yourself– a hundred years form now will anybody know the difference?".
 
It is okay to cry, never let anyone stop you from crying when your soul needs to bleed… we are hopelessly human, and emotions are just part of life…
 
But, you get more mileage out of laughter than out of tears…
 
Maybe we can ask ourselves pappy’s question, and if the answer is no– then we should try  laughing instead?
 
Everybody has a story– and most of yours is yet unwritten… make it a best seller… romance, adventure, comedy…
 
Oh, I should have started this earlier in the evening, but alas, it is late now…
 
Ziggy, you are amazing… can we sing a verse or two of "You are my Sunshine"?  because, you are 🙂  I see a little girl, with Shirley Temple curls boucing as she runs down an old farm lane…and she is laughing.  It is a warm summer day, and she holds out her chubby little hands to reveal her fingers tightly wrapped around a stubby bouquet of daisies and little pink flowers.  You are so proud of your accomplishment, and so eager to give them to me… where did the years go??
 
I wish that for you, Zigzee… children that love you, and bring you stubby little bouquets.  Love, smiles, tenderness and joy.  A Life of sharing the trials and the wonders with Tim…  and that you know your dreams, look them in the eye now and again so that you never lose sight of them..
.Only shooting stars break the mold 🙂
About Teresa Cypher

I live with my husband in a humble house in the middle of a tall stand of hardwoods, bordered by soybean and corn fields, in western Pennsylvania. Mother of three adult children and "Grammie" to one sweet little girl, I revel in family gatherings and celebrations. My husband and I care for the gardens on our property--our little corner of heaven, have a glass of wine at sunset, and like to watch the stars come out. Currently working in QC and Development for a Bio-technology Company that produces green, agricultural products. I came into the world a creator of stories. Having been born into a litter, the 7th of 8 children, in a farming family, I have spent most of my life trying to be an individual. My dreams took me there. From the time I was a little girl, I was a thinker, spending any time I could find to be alone--the bastion of undisturbed thoughts, dreaming of other worlds and of fairy-tale love. My mind never shut off-- through the years when thoughts allowed me to escape the everyday world of farm life, to the daydreams while I was raising children and being the cook, the baker, the candlestick maker,and the taxi driver-- all while working full time. It took until middle age for me to realize that my meandering mind was writing stories! Once I sat down and started typing, it took 2 months to write my first book. My biggest challenge at first was getting my fingers to type fast enough to keep up with my mind. My daughter bought me a small digital recorder so I could save my thoughts until my fingers could catch up. The story that I wrote, Across The Night Sky ,was years in the making, and timed well...after I had experienced real life and the joys and heartaches it brings. I think that time gave me a well-spring of experiences from which to merge fairy-tale love with the cynicism adult life creates--while never losing sight of the beautiful and wonderful that love is. Writing is my passion...this incredible discovery in mid life that often keeps me up till the wee hours of the morning. I am so very fortunate to have the opportunity to devote my time to something that brings me such joy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zigzee, you are my sunshine

  1. Sue says:

    What a wonderful blog and what a lucky young lady to have you for her MumThis could only have been writen fron a Mother hearttake careSue

  2. Angel says:

     
    Oh my,  it\’s been far too long since I dropped into the livespace blogs and enjoyed your writting!   This is beautiful willow.  It definitely brought tears to my eyes,  and made me feel your emotions.    More than anything it amplified the maternal drum beat in my heart,  simultaneously I had the visions your words painted for me and the visions of my own children running through my mind.   It made me wonder the differences between reflecting on the adulthood of a daughter and the adulthood of a son as I have so recently been tossed into doing.  Isn\’t it something,  really something!  At 18 we call them adults, we acknowledge and accept their independence and even relish in it a bit,  but even as we see them as adults we see them as our children,  somethings never change…and yet they do.  They fill in with color.  Day by day, the color of a personality and the evolution of a soul right before our eyes,  slowly over time.  It is a mystery how it happens over so many days and months and years and yet also feels like a blink of an eye.  Don\’t you think?  But what a glorious journey it is and what a clever little trick of the universe that as we are busy thinking we are watching THEM grow and change and become……   so are we.    So are we my friend = )      BTW,  love the wedding dress photos!  What an exciting time!!

Leave a Reply

